Skip to page body Home About GP City Government Residents Business Visitors I Want To...
News Review
Outstanding Service Recognized During 12th Annual Passionate Heart Awards Luncheon
Posted Date: 2/14/2018

A total of eight awards were distributed in four category areas during the annual Passionate Heart Awards luncheon today at Evergreen Park Entrec Centre.

Sponsored by the Family Community Support Services (FCSS) in the City of Grande Prairie, County of Grande Prairie, towns of Beaverlodge, Sexsmith and Wembley, and the Village of Hythe, the Passionate Heart Awards recognize outstanding contributions in the area of social services within the region.

“The Passionate Heart Awards Luncheon is about recognizing the important people dedicating work to the well-being of our communities,” said Lisa Watson, acting County FCSS Director. 

“Most people serving in the nominee categories do not expect recognition outside of the everyday benefits of helping and they often choose these roles with the intention of giving behind the scenes. The Passionate Heart Award is our way of saying thank you for all of your valued work and care.”

“We are honoured to recognize the award recipients and their significant contributions,” said Angela Sutherland, City of Grande Prairie Community Social Development Manager.

“The overarching goal of FCSS is to enhance the social well-being of our communities and this is could not be achieved without the dedication of our front-line workers.”

Recipients of the 2018 Passionate Heart awards include:

The Passionate Heart Exceptional Service Award is presented to individuals demonstrating exceptional front-line service for two or more years. The awards were presented to Michelle Wilson (Child and Family Services), Karen Chrenek (Peace Wapiti School Division), Penny Allaster (The Oasis), Tanya Wald (Youth Emergency Shelter) and Cst. Ellen Archibald (Grande Prairie RCMP).

The Caribou Child Advocacy Centre Team was presented with the Passionate Heart Exceptional Team Award.

The Passionate Heart Business Award went to WINMAR® for their outstanding support of the development of community.

Marlene Iverson of PACE was presented with the Chris Henderson Lifetime Service Award in recognition of her over 10 years of significant service to Grande Prairie.       

A call out for award nominations is made in January of each year. The awards presentation and luncheon takes place in mid-February annually.