Skip to page body Home About GP City Government Residents Business Visitors I Want To...

What is the George Repka Award?George Repka

In 1987 the Recreation Committee felt there was a major gap in the Achievement Awards Program. Individuals who may not have won a provincial, national or international event but have made a major contribution to our community in the areas of recreation, culture or social services were not being recognized. On March 10, 1987, they made a motion “that the City establish an award recognizing citizens who made an outstanding contribution to the City in a volunteer capacity. This award be named after George Repka who himself has made a significant contribution in terms of time and effort to the City."

Who is George Repka?

George Repka was the first Mayor elected after Grande Prairie received City status. George was elected on October 15, 1958 and served as Mayor until 1969.

George Repka believed that all citizens had a duty to contribute and make their voice heard. During his time as Mayor, Grande Prairie’s streets were paved, sidewalks were installed, a new City Hall was built as well as the Water Treatment Plant on the Wapiti River. A Preventive Social Service unit was established and the City owned Industrial Park was developed. He believed Grande Prairie was the "land of opportunity". George also served as President of the Alberta Urban Municipalities Association and in 1985 they awarded him an Award of Excellence.


  • The applicants must have exhibited long (20+ years) service to the community in the areas of recreation, culture, or social services. 
  • All applicants should be distinguished with notable achievements or contributions to the community.
  • No more than three (3) individuals will be honoured each year with this award.
  • Nomination deadline is October 1st of each year, for the current year.

Making a Nomination

  • May be made by the public at large or an organization within the community
  • Nomination form must be completed and include a statement of the nominees achievements
  • Completed nomination forms should be returned to the Community Living Executive Assistant at City Hall:

Nomination Form

Download the nomination form and view the submission details: 

Download the Nomination Form (PDF)

Nomination Deadline

Deadlines for nominations is October 1st of each year, for the current year.

The Award

  • The Award shall consist of a plaque presented by the Mayor at the City of Grande Prairie Corporate Volunteer Recognition Event held in the fall of each year.
  • Name(s) of the winner(s) of this award will be inscribed annually on a large plaque installed in City Hall which will include the name and year of presentation of all those receiving the award throughout the years.

Past Recipients

Previous award winners have included:

2015 - Ian Kay 
2015 - Dr. Curtis Smith
2012 - Jim & Sharon Brooks
2011 - Dan Gorman
2009 - Lynne & Donna Coulter and Jerry Petryshyn
2008 - Gordon & Hazel Bloomfield and Travis McNally
2006 - Leigh Goldie
2005 - Wally Stokes and Linda Smith
2002 - Ray & Joan Joberty and Dale Williams
2000 - Oscar Blais (late), Bea Collins, Sister Alice Goulet
1999 - Doreen Latham
1998 – Mike Townsend & Bob Normandeau
1996 – Steve Cooper
1995 – Doreen MacDonell and Kathy Harper
1994 – Marv Bird and Patricia Larter
1992 – Jennie Tetreau
1991 – Bill and Margaret Bowes
1989 – Ernie Radbourne
1988 – Isabelle Campbell and Doug Clarkson
1987 – Perky McCullough and Roy Borstad

The award was not given out in 1993, 1997, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2007, 2013, 2014 and was declined by the recipients in 1990

For further information please contact

Community Living Executive Assistant
PO Bag 4000, Grande Prairie, AB T8V 6V3

Phone: (780) 830-7072

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Download Acrobat Reader Download Flash Player Download QuickTime Download Windows Media Player Download Microsoft Silverlight Download Word Viewer Download Excel Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer
Last updated: 1/20/2017 11:44:39 AM